Typical RV lights as No-See-Um and other insect control device.

One of the not so nice things about arriving in our winter location in Florida is we are parked in a lower spot near a marsh and the No-See-Ums are a problem. We have No-See-Um screening which keeps most of the nasty little biters out but some always follow us in. We accidentally found a neat solution. If the light covers are set with a small opening (2mm) then the bugs are more attracted to the light than they are to us, and they crawl inside and promptly die instead of biting. While we were in Alabama we got inundated with Lady Bugs and we tried to catch and release as many as possible before we left. However, we kept finding Lady Bugs in our trailer for days afterward. Soon after we arrived in Florida I set the lights slightly open to catch No-See-Ums and soon had two more Lady Bugs. As you can see in the picture, the trick works using both incandescent and LED diode lights.

SAM_3975 SAM_3976

Lady  Bugs and some No-See-Ums in the yellowish incandescent light on the left and No-See-Ums caught in one hour under bluish LED diode lights. The bugs will be completely desiccated to an easy to dispose of form that only requires removing the light cover and then tipping the contents in a waste basket. I prefer to wash the light covers after emptying. I do the light covers once a week after washing the dishes unless a cover is really full.

SAM_3977 SAM_3978

View of standard RV lights showing how much space to leave on left and the whole light on the right.

A simple easy way to control flying insect pests.

About tumbleweedstumbling

I have three blogs, embryogenesis explained, tumbleweed tumbling AND fulltimetumbleweed. I am a scientist, and my husband and I have written a book which was published by World Scientific Publishing in Nov 2016 called Embryogensis Explained. Full time tumbleweed was my first blog which I worked on during five years of living full time in a travel trailer. I have now retired that blog in favour of Tumbleweeds Tumbling since we bought a stick house in April 2015 and are no longer full-time. I have a blended family of five sons and one daughter, all grown up now. I am (step)grandmother to nine boys and one girl. My husband and I have two dogs and a cat. We spend summers in Manitoba, Canada, in a 480 square foot house on a half acre of land in the tiny town of Alonsa. We spend winters in the USA. My husband is retired and being a US citizen, he does volunteer work in winters for Gulf Specimen Marine Lab in Panacea Florida as their emeritus. I retired in Sept 2013 and so far I am loving it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Typical RV lights as No-See-Um and other insect control device.

  1. Ingrid says:

    Great idea to deal with those bugs. Those ‘no-see-ums’ always find me…. grrr!

Leave a Reply

