Hauling Water

I often get questions about how to haul water when an RV site doesn’t have running water handy. How exactly do you get enough water to fill the tank and how exactly do you store the storage container when you are done hauling? We use a handy dandy small modified water bed style bag made by “Fold A Tank” from New World Manufacturing for under $50. I like things that work! Since I complained so much last post, I decided to do a post on something that I bought which worked even better than I expected.

SAM_3588

Name

This bag folds neatly and can be put away in a sturdy box. I use an old Tupperware one I had kicking around. Sturdy is better to prevent it from getting punctures. The box also contains assorted parts and a repair kit it came with in case of punctures. I added a bottle of water purifying stuff just in case I am ever stuck without a safe water supply. In 5 1/2 years this has not happened, but I am prepped for if it ever does.

Unfold

Water bag needs to be unfolded.

Place

Bag is placed on the roof of the pick up. You want it to be up high because it needs to siphon off at the other end. If you have to go a long distance on the highway it would be better off in the back of the truck.

Undertosecure

I slip the bag partly under the cross bar we use for the canoe. This means when full the bag is nice and secure. The manufacturer warns that if you turn the corner fast with the full bag on top….well just don’t do that.

Attach to water source

Connect the hose at both ends and turn on the water. I highly recommend asking permission first. We’ve only been turned down once. In this case, the public library was also the town’s officially designated campground water source.

Filling

Here the bag is filling. You can see the little valve that is essential. Open while filling, closed while driving, open while draining. I have discovered it is important to get that sequence right or you’ll get all wet and the whole process takes a lot longer. While it fills you stand around and wait for locals to come by and say something intelligent like “Getting some water, eh?” It is also important to actually be standing around monitoring the filling for reasons having nothing to do with enjoying riveting conversations with the locals. The manufacturer does not recommend overfilling. There is a little valve on top that is good for removing any air bubbles and it might prevent a rupture if you go for coffee but then again, it might not.

Return

The bag is full and we’re ready to return. Elapsed time since departing our campsite, 20 minutes.

FillTrailer

I place the hose nozzle with male to male adapter into the trailer fresh water fill port. Our tank takes 40 gallons to fill and the bag carries about 50. The siphon process is slow and typically takes about 30-45 minutes to finish. I normally shower while the tank is being filled since it had ten gallons extra anyway. We also top up any of our smaller water jugs if they are low.

Because the bag empties by a siphon drain process, the bag ends up virtually sucked empty and can be neatly and easily folded and put away. Total time including my shower, under one hour. The amount of water hauled is enough for us to live on for two days, including daily showers and dishes. Being able to camp where there is no running water can save a lot of money. For example, by hauling our own water twice during a week stay (we also filled up the trailer directly at the library before parking) we spent 2 1/2 hours hauling water for one person and 1 hour for the two of us hauling our honey wagon to the dump site and emptying it. (I am not including my photographer’s time.) 5 hours meant a $149.70 in savings over the nearest full service campsite in town and divide that by two of us working for 5 hours and it works out to $29.94 an hour (tax free). Plus we got to camp in a lovely place on a lake out in the country instead of in a gravel parking lot on the south end of Winnipeg. And we got some exercise and had fascinating conversations with the pleasant friendly local town’s folk.

About tumbleweedstumbling

I have three blogs, embryogenesis explained, tumbleweed tumbling AND fulltimetumbleweed. I am a scientist, and my husband and I have written a book which was published by World Scientific Publishing in Nov 2016 called Embryogensis Explained. Full time tumbleweed was my first blog which I worked on during five years of living full time in a travel trailer. I have now retired that blog in favour of Tumbleweeds Tumbling since we bought a stick house in April 2015 and are no longer full-time. I have a blended family of five sons and one daughter, all grown up now. I am (step)grandmother to nine boys and one girl. My husband and I have two dogs and a cat. We spend summers in Manitoba, Canada, in a 480 square foot house on a half acre of land in the tiny town of Alonsa. We spend winters in the USA. My husband is retired and being a US citizen, he does volunteer work in winters for Gulf Specimen Marine Lab in Panacea Florida as their emeritus. I retired in Sept 2013 and so far I am loving it.
This entry was posted in fall camping, Retirement, RVing, spring camping, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hauling Water

  1. Thanks, I’m interested in dry camping. šŸ™‚ Great Post!

Leave a Reply

